What’s on at NRM York

Signalling demo

Find out how signals work with our team of award-winning volunteers.


Date:
Occasional Saturdays
Time:
See right for dates.
11am–12.30pm and 1.30pm–3.30pm
Price:
FREE
Audience:
Suitable for all ages
Type:
Talks and tours
Location:
The Warehouse


For over 100 years, the Signalling School Model Railway has been used to put would be railway signallers through their paces. It uses authentic period signalling instruments to show how trains negotiate round the rail network safely. It is the only one of its kind and it's still used by Network Rail.

2016 Demonstration dates

These demonstrations are between 11:00-12:30 and between 1:30-3:30pm.

  • Saturday 19 March - at 13.30 there will be a demonstration of what happened at Penistone in Feb. 1927 when an express ran into a 'light' engine which had arrived with a local train. We'll show what took place and what changes to the safety systems resulted from the crash.
  • Saturday 30 April
  • Saturday 21 May
  • Saturday 18 June
  • Saturday 16 July
  • Saturday 13 August
  • Saturday 10 September
  • Saturday 8 October
  • Saturday 5 November
  • Saturday 3 December
  • Wednesday 28 December


For enquiries contact Phil Graham 01423 868491 or 07736 507103

See also

Background: 'Skegness is so Bracing' LNER Poster