What’s on at NRM York

Signalling demo

Find out how signals work with our team of award-winning volunteers.


Date:
Occasional Saturdays
Time:
See right for dates.
11am–12.30pm and 1.30pm–3.30pm
Price:
FREE
Audience:
Suitable for all ages
Type:
Talks and tours
Location:
The Warehouse

For over 100 years, the Signalling School Model Railway has been used to put would be railway signallers through their paces. It uses authentic period signalling instruments to show how trains negotiate round the rail network safely. It is the only one of its kind and it's still used by Network Rail.

2015 Demonstration dates

These demonstrations are between 11:00-12:30 and between 1:30-3:30pm.

  • Saturday 17 January
  • Saturday 14 February
  • Saturday 14 March (see also signalling day experience on 25 March)
  • Saturday 11 April
  • Saturday 9 May
  • Saturday 13 June
  • Saturday 11th July
  • Saturday 15th August
  • Saturday 12th September
  • Saturday 10th October
  • Saturday 07th November
  • Monday 28th December


For enquiries contact Phil Graham 01423 868491 or 07736 507103

See also

Background: 'Skegness is so Bracing' LNER Poster