What’s on at NRM York

Signalling demo

Find out how signals work with our team of award-winning volunteers.


Date:
Occasional Saturdays
Time:
See right for dates.
11am–12.30pm and 1.30pm–3.30pm
Price:
FREE
Audience:
Suitable for all ages
Type:
Talks and tours
Location:
The Warehouse

For over 100 years, the Signalling School Model Railway has been used to put would be railway signallers through their paces. It uses authentic period signalling instruments to show how trains negotiate round the rail network safely. It is the only one of its kind and it's still used by Network Rail.

2015 Demonstration dates

These demonstrations are between 11:00-12:30 and between 1:30-3:30pm.

  • Saturday 17 January
  • Saturday 14 February
  • Saturday 14 March
  • Saturday 11 April 
  • Saturday 9 May
  • Saturday 23 May - this session will feature a reenactment of the Quintinshill accident of 22 May 1915. Learn how a simple bit of forgetfulness of a signalman at shift changeover let to the tragic deaths of 227 soldiers on the way to fight in the First World War. It is still Britain's worst railway accident. how did it happen and why was the death toll so great? Find out at 11:30, 1:45pm and 3pm on the day. 
  • Saturday 13 June
  • Saturday 11 July
  • Saturday 15 August
  • Saturday 12 September
  • Saturday 10 October
  • Saturday 7 November
  • Monday 28 December


For enquiries contact Phil Graham 01423 868491 or 07736 507103

See also

Background: 'Skegness is so Bracing' LNER Poster