The Director of the Science Museum and the Science Museum Group is Ian Blatchford.

Ian took up his appointment as the Director of the Science Museum Group in November 2010 and combined the two roles when Prof. Chris Rapley stepped down as Director of the Science Museum in December 2010.

Previously Ian was the Deputy Director of the Victoria & Albert Museum from December 2004, having joined the Museum in April 2002 as Director of Finance & Resources.

He started his career in the City, working at the Bank of England and the merchant bankers Barclays de Zoete Wedd, before the joining the Arts Council, where he was Deputy Finance Director. He then joined the marketing and design agency Cricket Communications as Financial Controller before becoming Director of Finance at the Royal Academy of Arts in 1996.

Ian read law at Mansfield College, Oxford and holds an MA in Renaissance Studies from Birkbeck College, University of London. He is also a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Currently Ian is Chairman of the Governors of De Montfort University.