Science Museum Fellows

The Science Museum Fellowship award recognises individuals who have contributed to the world of science and had an exceptional influence on modern culture.

In 2009, as part of the Museum’s centenary celebrations, we launched the Science Museum Fellows Programme to recognise some of the scientists and individuals who have changed our world through academic research, design, technology and philanthropy.

Every year we invite selected individuals to join the programme and become Fellows of the Science Museum.

2014 Fellowship Awards

Dr Douglas Gurr

Dr Douglas Gurr was Chairman of the Science Museum Group Board of Trustees from 1 July 2010 to 30 June 2014. He is Vice-President of Hardlines, Amazon Inc. and has recently been promoted to Country Manager for the company’s Chinese business, taking up the post in September 2014.

Prior to his appointment as Director of Logistics, New Business & Strategy at Asda, Douglas spent five years as Chief Executive at Blueheath - the internet-enabled stockless wholesaler he founded in 2001 - and six years at the consulting firm McKinsey & Company, ending up as partner and Head of the UK Retail Practice.

Fellows of the Science Museum

These include:

  • Lord Rees of Ludlow
  • Michael G Wilson OBE
  • Professor Peter Higgs
  • Professor Stephen Hawking
  • Professor Rolf Heuer
  • Sir Harry Kroto
  • Sir Timothy Hunt
  • Professor Anthony Hewish
  • Professor John Walker
  • Sir John Cornforth
  • Sir Anthony Leggett
  • Professor Brian Josephson
  • Sir Peter Mansfield
  • Sir John Sulston
  • Sir Paul Nurse
  • Professor Christian de Duve
  • Sir Andrew Huxley
  • Mr Martin Smith
  • Sir Richard Roberts
  • Professor Athene Donald
  • Sir David Attenborough
  • Professor Jocelyn Bell-Burnell
  • Baroness Susan Greenfield
  • Mr Jim Lovelock
  • Professor Wangari Maathai