Skip to main content

To visit, book your free tickets now. Education and community groups can book a visit here.

Prime Minister appoints eight new Trustees to the Board of the Science Museum Group

Mathematician and broadcaster Dr Hannah Fry and Network Rail Chairman Sir Peter Hendy are among eight new Science Museum Group Trustees announced by Prime Minister Theresa May.

Dr Fry, Associate Professor in the Mathematics of Cities at UCL, already has a close connection with the museum group after presenting the BBC documentary Britain's Greatest Inventions, which explored our collection, and interviewing leading mathematician Andrew Wiles, and shortly Roger Penrose, at the Science Museum. 

Sir Peter’s transport career spans more than forty years and includes a decade as Commissioner of Transport for London.

The other appointees are: Dr Jo Foster, Vice Principal at Camborne Science and International Academy; Professor Ajit Lalvani, Chair of Infectious Diseases, Imperial College London; Steven Underwood, Chief Executive of the Peel Group; marketing entrepreneur and Bradford businesswoman Judith Donovan; Iain McIntosh, who has been Chief Financial Officer of five different business services groups; and Sarah Staniforth, President of the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works.

Dr Foster, Sarah Staniforth and Iain McIntosh have taken up with posts with immediate effect with the others joining in spring and summer 2019.

Welcoming the appointments, Board chairman Dame Mary Archer said: “The eminent women and men joining our board bring a remarkable breadth of experience and skills that will help the Science Museum Group to continue to thrive, inspiring millions of visitors each year. I look forward to welcoming each of them onto the Board and to the contributions they will make to our museum group."

Alongside the new appointments the Prime Minister announced the reappointment five trustees, including lawyer and former Lord Mayor of London Dame Fiona Woolf, and Sharon Flood, Présidente du Conseil de Surveillance at ST Du Pont S.A., the Paris-based luxury goods company.  

Professor David Phoenix, Vice Chancellor and CEO of London South Bank University, former CEO and UK Chairman of rail company Allbeio Anton Valk, and Professor Russell Foster of the University of Oxford are also reappointed.  

Anton Valk has been reappointed for two years, Professor Foster and Dame Woolf have been reappointed for three years, and Sharon Flood and Professor Phoenix have been reappointed for four years, from the 31 March 2019.

The Science Museum Group welcomes more than 5.5 million visitors a year to its five museums: the Science Museum in London, the National Railway Museum in York; Locomotion in Shildon, the Science and Industry Museum in Manchester and the National Science and Media Museum in Bradford.


Notes for editors

Trustees are appointed by the Prime Minister following a public appointments process administered by DCMS and overseen by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. 

Our new trustees are:

Sarah Staniforth CBE 
Sarah is a Trustee of English Heritage, the Landmark Trust, the Hunterian Museum at the Royal College of Surgeons and the Pilgrim Trust and is President of the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (IIC). She is also a member of the Westminster Abbey Fabric Commission and the Gloucester Diocesan Advisory Committee. She has written and lectured extensively on preventive conservation in museums and historic houses and some of this work is recorded in the National Trust Manual of Housekeeping.

Iain McIntosh 
Ian, FCA, has been Chief Financial Officer of five different IT consulting, software, outsourcing and business services groups. Most recently, he was CFO of the educational software, services and resources group RM PLC. Iain initially qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Deloitte Haskins & Sells (now PwC) and then joined McKinsey & Co. 
Steven Underwood 
Steven is the Chief Executive Officer of the Peel Group, one of the UK’s largest privately-owned real estate, transport and infrastructure investors. Before joining the Peel Group as Corporate Development Director in 2007, Steven spent eight years in investment banking with Rothschild and before that qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Coopers & Lybrand. Steven represents the Peel Group on the boards of a number of its investee companies, including ports, airports, media and land & property. Steven is also a non-executive director of Pinewood Shepperton Plc and Harworth Group PLC.

Judith Donovan CBE
Judith founded her own marketing agency in 1982 after nine years as a graduate employee in marketing in both London and Yorkshire. She was one of the first female entrepreneurs in Yorkshire and was recognised as such with a number of awards. In addition, she chaired the Bradford Training and Enterprise Council, was the first ever female president of Bradford Chamber of Commerce and appeared on the panel of BBC's "Question Time" twice. In 2000 she sold JDA to her managers and embarked on a public sector and NED career.

Professor Ajit Lalvani
Ajit is Chair of Infectious Diseases, National Institute of Health Research Senior Investigator and Wellcome Senior Clinical Research Fellow at Imperial College London and Founding Director of the Tuberculosis Research Centre.  He is Co-Chair of Respiratory Infections at the National Heart and Lung Institute and Honorary Consultant Physician at Imperial College London and Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust. His research programme addresses the world’s most serious respiratory infections: tuberculosis and pandemic influenza. 

Sir Peter Hendy CBE
Sir Peter is current Chair of the Network Rail Board. He was previously Commissioner of Transport for London (TfL) from 2006 to 2015, having served since 2001 as TfL’s managing director of Surface Transport and he was president of the International Association of Public Transport (UITP) from 2013 to 2015. Sir Peter is a vice president of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport.  He was knighted in the 2013 New Year’s Honours List, having been made CBE in 2006 for services to public transport and the community in London.

Dr Hannah Fry 
Hannah is an Associate Professor in the Mathematics of Cities at the Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis at UCL. She works alongside a unique mix of physicists, mathematicians, computer scientists, architects and geographers to study the patterns in human behaviour. Alongside her academic position, Hannah’s mathematical expertise has led to the development of several BBC documentaries including Britain's Greatest Inventions, Climate Change By Numbers and Calculating Ada: The Countess of Computing. Hannah regularly appears on radio, including on her long-running BBC Radio 4 show The Curious Cases of Rutherford and Fry.

Dr Jo Foster 
Jo is Vice Principal at Camborne Science and International Academy and the Director of Nexus. She has previously held roles as Head of Science, Assistant Headteacher and SENCO. She is currently leading Nexus as a Centre for Excellence in education for the most able and an IRIS Partner School. Jo’s background is in Biology; her Doctorate was awarded for her work with the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food on Maximising Biodiversity in Woodlands planted through the Farm Woodland Scheme. 

Part of the Science Museum Group