Skip to main content

To visit, book your free tickets now. Education and community groups can book a visit here.

Prime Minister Reappoints Chairman to the Board of the Science Museum Group

Theresa May has reappointed Dame Mary Archer as Chairman of the Board of the Science Museum Group, for a second four-year term, running from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2022. 

The Prime Minister’s announcement comes as the Science Museum Group seeks to appoint seven new trustees to its board, three of whom will take up post in summer 2018 with four more to join the Board throughout spring/summer 2019.

Dame Mary Archer, who was appointed DBE in 2012 for services to the NHS, started her career as a physical chemist and taught Chemistry at both Oxford and Cambridge Universities before going on to chair Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust for a decade.

Dame Mary said: “I feel privileged to have the opportunity to lead the Board for a further four years in support of our visitors and the transformational plans at each of our museums. As we seek new trustees, I hope a varied pool of talented candidates will put themselves forward to join our Board and bring a fresh perspective to our mission to inspire future scientists and engineers.”

The Science Museum Group welcomes more than 5.5 million visitors a year to its five museums: the Science Museum in London, the National Railway Museum in York; Locomotion in Shildon, the Museum of Science and Industry in Manchester and the National Science and Media Museum in Bradford.


Notes for Editors

Trustees are appointed by the Prime Minister following a public appointments process administered by DCMS and overseen by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

As well as chairing Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, 2002-2012, Dame Mary Archer was a founder director of Cambridge University Health Partners, 2009–2012. Dame Mary is President of the National Energy Foundation, the UK Solar Energy Society, Cambridge Global Health Partnerships and the Guild of Church Musicians. She is chair of Cambridge Early Music, a trustee of the Britten Sinfonia, and a non-executive director of Hydrodec Group plc. 

For the first three of the seven trustee vacancies available vacancies (starting in 2018), the Science Museum Group is seeking trustees with strong skills and expertise in the following areas:

  • ​Railways and railway heritage
  • Finance and risk management  
  • ​Property development and management

For the second round of appointments (spread across 2019), the Group is seeking trustees with strong skills and expertise in the following areas: 

  • Business and commercial leadership
  • Collections 
  • ​Scientific research 
  • STEM education


Part of the Science Museum Group