Skip to main content
Triangle Copy 4Triangle Copy 4Group 4Group 4Group 4LineGroup 3Group 7Page 1Page 1

Science Museum

Science Museum Fellows

In 2009, as part of the Museum’s centenary celebrations, we launched the Science Museum Fellows Programme to recognise some of the scientists and individuals who have changed our world through academic research, design, technology and philanthropy.

Every year we invite selected individuals to join the programme and become Fellows of the Science Museum. Those listed below have been both nominated and elected.

2017 Fellowship Awards

Tim Peake

Timothy Peake CMG FScM
Has been nominated and elected as a Fellow of the Science Museum, in recognition of achievements of great distinction in his career, and in particular the Principia mission. His passion for engaging young people has inspired our visitors, and indeed the entire country.


Sir Venkatraman Ramakrishnan headshot

Sir Venki Ramakrishnan 
Has been nominated and elected as a Fellow of the Science Museum, for his great distinction in the advancement of science, through both research and advocacy, and for continued support of the Science Museum, in particular London: Science City and Illuminating India.

Fellows of the Science Museum

  • Professor Dame Ann Dowling, elected 2016
  • Dr Helen Sharman, elected 2016
  • Rt Hon George Osborne, elected 2016
  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, elected 2016
  • David Harding, elected 2015
  • Professor John O'Keefe, elected 2015
  • Alexei Arkhipovich Leonov, elected 2015
  • Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation Ms Olga Golodets,
    elected 2015
  • Dr Valentina Tereshkova, elected 2015
  • Her Majesty The Queen, elected 2014
  • His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh, elected 2014
  • Dr Douglas Gurr, elected 2014
  • Professor Peter Higgs, elected 2013
  • The Lord Rees of Ludlow, elected 2013
  • Michael G Wilson, elected 2013
  • Professor Stephen Hawking, elected 2012
  • Professor Rolf-Dieter Heuer, elected 2012
  • Sir David Attenborough, elected 2010
  • Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell-Burnell, elected 2010
  • Prof Athene Donald, elected 2010
  • Baroness Susan Greenfield, elected 2010
  • James Lovelock, elected 2010
  • Professor Antony Hewish, elected 2009
  • Sir Timothy Hunt, elected 2009
  • Professor Brian Josephson, elected 2009
  • Sir Anthony Leggett, elected 2009
  • Sir Paul Nurse, elected 2009
  • Sir Richard Roberts, elected 2009
  • Sir Martin Smith, elected 2009
  • Professor Sir John Sulston, elected 2009
  • Sir John Walker, elected 2009